COTMA Achievement Awards 

2021 Awards:

The Bill Kingsley Award was made to the Wellington Tramway Museum for the outstanding achievement in the restoration to running order of Wellington Tramcar 17.

Achievement Awards were made:

A recognition Award was made to The Tramway Historical Society for the renewal of Restaurant Tram 411.

The Presidents Award was made to Warrington Cameron for Geelong Duncan and Fraser Car No. 2.

For details of each submission and the awards view here.

For the judges comments view here.



Australian Electric Transport Museum

Chris Bennett and Colin Seymour

In June 2019 AETM was issued a non-compliance notice due to lack of attention to the Safety Management system. Chris and Colin took on the task of updating and maintaining the system, leading to the museum returning to full compliance by the end of 2020. After a series of training and refresher programs AETM recommenced public operations on 3 May 2021 giving a huge boost to the morale of AETM members.


Perth Electric Tramway Society

William (Bill) Allnutt VI

Bill has been a member of the Society since 2014 and is the Society's oldest active member. Bill is Team Leader of the Restoration Group Committee passing on his knowledge of the trams and trolleybuses to the other team members.

Ian Kelly

for leading the mechanical team.

Stuart Darbyshire

for the beautiful painting work on our trams.

Ian Sidebottom

For his work as Safety Officer and Tram Body Maintenance Supervisor.


Tramway Historical Society

Brian Andrew

Brian joined the THS in 2007 and has been a regular tram driver - including for many charter operations at all hours. His skills also extend to tractor and chain saw use and he is alays on the lookout for a job to assist the operations at Ferrymead

Larry Day

Larry joined the THS in 1966 and has also driven and maintained trams on the City tramway since its inception in 1995. His involvement over 50 plus years has also included bringing the family along, with son Jonathon now Vice President of the THS.


Wellington Tramway Museum

Keith McGavin

Keith joined the WTM in 1962 and has occupied all the office bearer positions during his long commitment. As funding officer he has raised over $1million, enabling the museum to undertake extensive tram refurbishment and construction of key buildings.

Past Awards:

For past awards view here




Basis of the Awards and Judging Criteria

COTMA member museums achieve miracles – and that deserves recognition.

COTMA's Achievement awards have been made since the 2000 biennial conference.  The Achievement awards are not competitive, but are to set standards of achievement that their fellow peers can recognise, flag and inspire others to equal or better.  There may be any number of achievement awards at a conference.

For the first time in 2006, a formal "EAR Award" (Excellence and Recognition) was made to the organisation that the judges considered had made the most significant achievement.

In 2014, the EAR Award was retitled "The Bill Kingsley Award" to acknowledges Bill’s outstanding service to the tramway museum cause, including his work on the establishment and development of COTMA
We know that many of you have done some excellent work over this time. 

The criteria for judging the awards are: 

  • Degree of difficulty,
  • Quality of outcome,
  • Value to community,
  • Historical accuracy

Each criterion is given a score out of 5 by three judges and high scoring projects receive an achievement award marked by a certificate. 

The three judges are Graham Stewart, Dr John Radcliffe) and Carolyn Cleak.

The top scoring submission is the winner of the Bill Kingsley award, which carries a certificate, a trophy and a cash prize of $500.

Submissions can be sent to COTMA PO Box 6172 Hawthorn West Vic 3122 and/or by email to cotma@cotma.org.au giving details of the achievement in no more than three A4 pages, plus photographs etc, and attaching any supporting documents that you feel are relevant.

Individual members of museums also deserve recognition.

Individual Volunteer Achievement Awards may also be presented at the conference.  They are based on the recommendation and advice from any member group – without any selection process outside the nominating museum. 

We see individual recognition is best handled at local group level.  Please send your nomination(s) for outstanding contributions by your most valued volunteer(s). No more than two nominations per museum group please.
Nominations for Volunteer Achievement Awards are to be sent to the Secretary, Mal Rowe at email mal.rowe@gmail.com , should be on no more than one A4 page and should describe in some detail the contribution your nominated volunteer.

The closing date for applications is Saturday 31 July 2021.


| Credits |
Council of Tramway Museums of Australasia Inc. - A0030417B - ABN 81 315 085 479